Creative Technologies Session 5

Scavenging adventure

Our first class with Janet today.

In the morning we took time to introduce ourselves and look quickly at each other’s backgrounds, Janet shared a power point of some of her work. I learned of some cool new ways of applying technology when working within a creative space. I liked how she used a picture collage to cover a whole wall and transform the space into something else. I didn’t want to share my background at first because I was pissed off for some reason (I can’t remember why) but looking back I do think it’s a really professional and positive way to start with a new bunch of people.

Now we had gotten to know each other a bit, we were informed that we were going on a little adventure! We would be going on a scavenge hunt around Point Chevalier to find newspaper and get supplies for the paper mache task in the afternoon. Janet said as students it’s good practice to ask for free things as students and it randomises the choice of materials you acquire. I thought that a good notion as it could make projects challenging to work with limited resources.

iStock_000002099178Medium_big_paper_stack-2.jpg

I didn’t struggle at all with approaching people asking for free things as I’ve done my fair share of this kind of thing in the past. For e.g boot fairs, clearing out festivals, selling second hand camping goods, asking businesses for wooden pallets, and generally looking out for junk to upcycle… just to name a few! I had my eye on a shopping trolley, I thought it would be great to paper mache.

I always find it interesting to approach strangers. It made me remember how everybody is different and how approaching a stranger is like stepping into their world for a second. I realised I try to come across neutrally, with a happy but respectful manner. Not that I’m not like this in real life but it’s almost as if I create a friendly persona… Weird! Anyway, it worked and we got some free newspaper.

Clouds on the way over to the high street.

Even though we set off on a complete different task we ended up finding the seed to our whole paper project. There was a strange and unusual cloud constellation in the sky, I noticed it and mentioned it to Rosie. We talked about the light qualities and this led to us linking it to paper. I am learning more and more that inspiration is literally everywhere if you choose to see it.

cloud shapes_4be3c0fb52062_hires

This wasn’t the cloud but it shows similar light qualities to the one mentioned above…

Leave a comment